Blogging, classical music and driving

Earlier this evening, as I was reading and commenting on posts I was thinking how amazing blogging is.

It is just extraordinary how we can connect with people that we do not know personally, people that most likely lead lives completely different from ours.  Yet there are values, ideas, desires that connect us to others across generations, backgrounds and oceans.

This of course is only possible due to the incredible developments in computing and the huge number of social sites that have sprung up in the last few years. Yesterday I was on a site that allowed me to share its content with more than 300 other sites!

Image

While thinking about this I remembered something I heard on the radio as I was driving home.  It was a classic music station and the presenter was featuring an album with a new recording of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7.  He was wondering if Beethoven’s is good driving music and said that for fun, he had put a photo on Facebook showing how Beethoven would have looked like driving.

Image

Beethoven driving – image from Classic FM’s Facebook page

As I visualized Beethoven driving in front of me, I mused that a couple of hundred years ago people could not conceive what our transportation looks like today.  We can go where and when we want in our own vehicle – how fantastic would that have seemed then!

This got me thinking about all the things that could not have been imagined in the past which are part of our daily lives now. It then also dawned on me that in a few hundred years time someone will be thinking the same about us.  No matter how far we have moved from our humble beginnings I can only speculate that there are still unimaginable things to come!

8 thoughts on “Blogging, classical music and driving

  1. Great post…I love looking back at futuristic shows and movies, and seeing their ideas of what future technology might look like. One that sticks out is a video game machine in the movie Soylent Green: It’s basically a tiny screen with a game not much more advanced than pong, but in a sleek white case.
    It’s really true what you say: It’s IMPOSSIBLE to imagine what the humans who follow us on this planet will come up with. But it’s fun to imagine. Thanks again for the great post!

  2. I think about this with medicine all the time — the simple truth that it is important for doctor’s to wash their hands. How essential and yet how unrealized this was up until more recent times!

  3. Technology, indeed unimaginable!!
    Gosh, I remember like it was last year when Pagers were ‘the’ thing. Those days when we carried in our backpacks a card that translated series of numbers into messages we received on the pagers. Before long, cell phones came about and now.. I can’t imaging living without one.. I often wonder what the two years in the future cell phone model would be like. Dare to imagine? 🙂

  4. Pagers were a mystery to me as I never had one but the cell phone it goes with me everywhere 🙂 I cannot imagine how the future of cell phone looks like but I look forward to finding out!

Leave a Reply

