Writing Challenge: Starting Over – Re-invention

Making a new start is never as simple as it seems on paper. It’s easy to talk about losing a few pounds or giving up the job you hate to weave animal-shaped baskets on a tropical island, but less so to make it happen, and keep at it.

In this week’s  writing challenge, we’re asking you to write a short piece of creative writing (fiction/poetry/prose poetry/freeform mindjazz/whatever floats your boat) on the theme of Starting Over.

I don’t write fiction but when I read this challenge the dialogue below came into my head. So strictly speaking this is ‘a dialogue in my head’ not fiction. Despite my fear of doing so I felt I had to publish it because after all the reason I am blogging is to step out of my comfort zone, to start something new.

Image

–      What do you mean you’re starting over?

–      I mean just that, I am starting over.  I’m turning my back on what I am and what I have now.  I’m moving away from here, away from everyone and everything and I’m starting over again.

–      No one can just start over.  You are still the same person – your experiences, memories and everything that makes you will still be there.  You cannot clean up your brain and reprogram it like a hard drive and start from scrach.

–      No, I know I cannot do that but I can turn my back on everything.  I can go somewhere where no one knows me, where I have no connections with anyone or anything and I can create a new me based on who I really am rather than on what others expect me to be.

–      That is crazy!  Why haven’t you been you?  How is that anyone else’s fault?  And what makes you think that moving away from everything you know will make you different from who you are now?

–      I don’t know but that is what I need to do.

–      You are not starting over you are just running away.

–      I don’t care what you call it, I am leaving and I am starting over!

4 thoughts on “Writing Challenge: Starting Over – Re-invention

    • Thank you for your comment and following my blog Diana.
      I have moved a few times myself (different countries too) mostly because I love living in new places and doing new things 🙂

Leave a Reply

