Daily Prompt: Free Association – Home is where I want to be

I love today’s Daily Prompt challenge!

Write down the first words that comes to mind when we say . . .

. . . home.

. . . soil.

. . . rain.

I love it because it immediately brought to my mind the free association game I am so keen to play with my nieces and nephews.  It is great to see how they play it and the words they link together.

It is particularly fun when they are still quite young and just start grasping how the game works.  The sad part comes when they say “Oh no, not that game again!”

Anyway, on to my own associations:

home -> I love being at home.  When I’m at work, away on vacation or business, just out for the day or the evening, I can’t wait to get back home. I love the coziness, the warmth, being sheltered from the elements. I love sitting around in my own personal space reading, watching an old movie or connecting virtually with the world. I cherished the privacy of home.

Image

a warm cozy place to be

soil ->The word soil brings to mind the lush green colours of the beautiful country I live in.  There are so many beautiful plants and trees everywhere.  I love the cows and sheep that can be seen in many places and I love the way fields easily sit side by side with beaches and the sea.

Image

the water, the sheep, the green of the fields and trees, (Lake District, UK)

rain -> The  wonderful feeling of warm rain – I will never forget the first time I experienced it as I got off a plane!  The winter and cold rain, while cozy at home, hearing it fall, watching an old movie.  As it gets colder rain becomes ice or snow.  I am looking at the snow outside of my window right now and it reminds me of the wonderfully brilliant mountains of the Alps.

Image

Alps, France

Funny how almost everything leads me home huh?

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Free Association – Home is where I want to be

  1. Pingback: Home, soil, rain – What came to my mind first. | The Hempstead Man

  2. Pingback: Home, Soil, Rain | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Leave a Reply

