Daily Prompt: Musical | Reminiscences

What role does music play in your life?

Here are my random musical connections in response to today’s Daily Prompt:

– Apparently dancing on top of a café table when I was about three years old as folk music played on the TV

In my teens

– Singing so loud in the shower that my sisters would come back from the bus stop across the road to ask me to shut up so I wouldn’t embarrass them

– Singing “Stayin’ Alive” at the top of my lungs in our apartment’s balcony

– Singing ‘Flash’ for a whole day as I was sightseeing and visiting museums with my sister and a friend

– Pushing my parents until they finally bought me a guitar.  Then finding all sorts of reasons why I couldn’t play it

– Refusing to go out with my parents and sisters and instead spending winter Saturday afternoons, alone at home, watching operas on TV

– My dad often reminiscing about playing the concertina as a young man and dreaming about playing again. Eventually in his sixties he bought one – he couldn’t really play and the concertina rarely came out of its box. The good thing is that at least he fulfilled his dream.

As an adult

– For over 10 years, ‘singing’ and ‘dancing’ ‘Be-Bop-A-Lula’ to entertain my nieces ad nephews every time I visited (they kept asking for it after my first ‘performance’, honest ;-))

– Choosing the radio station on my car journeys, according to my mood – from pop to classical and often dancing (as much as it is possible while seated) and singing at the top of my voice.

– Having at least one song playing in my head most of the time – sometimes 2 or 3 at the same time!

Long live the music!

14 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Musical | Reminiscences

  1. Pingback: Tormented By The Daily Prompt | The Chatter Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Musical Role in My Life | My Blog

  3. Pingback: Waiting for the Gift of Sound & Vision | The Mercenary Researcher

  4. Pingback: The Only Drug With No Harmful Side Effects – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  5. Pingback: Pickin’ on Me « Cheri Speak

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Musical | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  7. Isn’t it amazing how music is bound up inextricably with our memories. There are certain songs that always take me back to specific moments, usually moments of pure bliss. Excellent post! 🙂

  8. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With JaneyBGood – “Murdering It On Karaoke Night” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

